MINUTES OF THE DECATUR COUNTY SOLID WASTE MANAGEMENT BOARD

Tuesday, June 27, 2023 at 5:00 p.m.

The meeting of the Decatur County Solid Waste Management District Board was called to order by Vice-Chairman Jeremy Pasel on Tuesday, June 27, 2023, at 5:00 P.M. at the Decatur County Solid Waste Office.

MEMBERS PRESENT: Commissioner Jeremy Pasel, City of Westport Town Council Harry Pray, City of Greensburg Council Vietta McKenzie, Mayor Joshua Marsh, Commissioner Tony Blodgett attended via phone.

MEMBERS ABSENT: Council Member, Kenny Hooten and Commissioner Mark Koors

OTHERS PRESENT: District Director Mandy Creech

APPROVAL OF MINUTES: Motion was made by Mayor Josh Marsh to approve minutes of the May 2023 meeting Vietta McKenzie seconded and the motion carried. Jeremy and Mandy signed minutes.

APPROVAL OF CLAIMS: Claims from January 2023 through May 2023 were signed. Mayor Marsh had several questions regarding claims including two APV's for David Gearhart in January, our Sharps program (why are we paying when the Health Dept. is about to come into money) and was Best Way still picking up the Sheriff's Office. After discussion of Mayor Marsh's concerns, he made a motion to approve all claims and Vietta McKenzie seconded it.

DIRECTOR'S REPORT: Mandy has requested that the board consider adding a part time employee to our staff. Her suggestions were briefly discussed at our June meeting. Due to possible health issues for Mandy, she suggested this as a possible help for the board and the district, should anything happen in the future. This discussion turned into a request by Mayor Josh Marsh and Vietta McKenzie that Mandy document her time spent each day and what task she was performing, thus curbing the discussion regarding part-time/back-up assistance. It was suggested that the current mission statement be rewritten and that Mandy document what she spends her time doing. No vote was taken regarding this.

No other public comment.

Motion was made by Harry Pray to adjourn the June meeting. Vietta McKenzie seconded and the motion carried.

Kenny Hooten, Chairman	
Mandy Creech, Attest	